Day 1 #14DaysofRomance Nothing Comes Close by @TolulopePopoola

Nothing Comes Close by Tolulope Popoola

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Heat level: Sweet

Nothing Comes CloseBlurb:

Confident, sassy, career girl, Lola meets cool, handsome, unpredictable hunk, Wole at a party in London. He pushes all the right buttons for her, and sparks fly. Wole is also irresistibly drawn to Lola, and before long, they get together in a wonderful romance. But Wole is not all that he seems, and he is holding back some dark secrets.
Things start to unravel when Wole’s past begins to catch up with him and Lola has to decide if Wole is worth the trouble that threatens to overwhelm her. Find out in this captivating book if their love will overcome the trials of a murder investigation, an arrest, a meddling relative and a trip halfway across the world, or whether they both give up and go their separate ways.

To download the ebook: 

Amazon Kindle US – Amazon Kindle UK –  Amazon Europe (Germany,  FranceItalySpain)

Kobo  –  Apple iStore –  Sony Reader store –  WH Smith –  Smashwords

To buy the paperback 

Amazon US –  Amazon UK –  Waterstones – BOOKS etc. –  Book Depository

Excerpt:

He went to the kitchen, got a bottle and two wine glasses. He opened it and poured me a bit to sip first.

“Like it?”

“Yeah, it’s nice.”

“It’s Italian, their red wines have great flavour.” he said.

“I don’t know much about wines, sorry.” I laughed. “I just know if I like the taste or not.”

“Here, let me pour you some more.” He filled his glass too and sat back on the sofa.

“I can’t help feeling apprehensive about my move,” he said. “I’ll have to sort out where I’m going to stay when I get to Milton Keynes.”

“Isn’t your company providing you with a place?”

“Yeah they’ll put me up in a hotel for a month and pay me some relocation allowance, after that I’ll have to find a place myself.”

“Oh okay.”

“I’ve gotten used to this house. Change can be scary you know?”

“Yeah I know. I’m scared of many things.”

“Like what?”

“I don’t know – ok for example I’m afraid to change my job, even though I don’t like it anymore.”

“You shouldn’t be, life is too short to be stuck in a rut and hating it.”

“I know that in my head, I just can’t reconcile it in my actions.”

“Hey don’t worry, you’ll be fine. Just take it one step at a time.”

He leaned closer.

“Lola, I enjoy your company. We should hang out again.”

“When next do you think you’ll come to London?” I asked.

“I’m not sure; I plan to hit the ground running when I get to Milton Keynes. I’ll have to come back to pack the rest of my stuff when I find a place, so let’s say in a month.”

“Okay, that’s not too bad,” I said. “I’m sure I can fit you into my diary in a month’s time.”

He laughed.

“Beautiful, smart and funny,” he said, taking my hand and drawing me closer to him. “Now that’s a winning combination.”

Maybe it was the wine getting to me, but I wasn’t resisting. I leaned into him and he was about to say something when the doorbell rang.

He jumped. “Damn! Who is that?”

I followed him to the window. It was the delivery guy with the Chinese food we had ordered. I watched Wole as he grabbed his wallet, collected the food and paid the guy. Then he came back inside.

“Do you want to eat right now or later?” he asked, giving me that smile again.

“Let’s eat now, while the food is hot.” I said.

“Great,” he said. He got two plates and dished out the food, then brought them to the sofa.

“Do you want some more wine? It goes well with Chinese food.” he said.

“Yeah, sure.”

We ate in comfortable silence, only interrupted by the music which filled the silent moments. I caught him looking at me from time to time.

“Are you blushing?” he teased.

I shook my head.

“I think it’s cute,” he said. “Your eyes are captivating to me.”

“I’m not doing anything with my eyes!” I protested.

Join our treasure hunt for your chance to WIN  a $10 gift card. Collect the blue coloured letters in each post and rearrange the letters to form a 3-word phrase. Send the completed phrase to romancewritersofwestafrica@gmail.com by midnight 28 February 2013. A winner will be chosen March 1, 2013. This contest is open internationally. Today’s letter. Treasure hunt - M

One thought on “Day 1 #14DaysofRomance Nothing Comes Close by @TolulopePopoola

Your thoughts

